Tuesday, October 8, 2013

High School, Part Deux

Back in May, my older two children (Kaitlyn and Rowan) graduated high school. August saw me back at Bryan High as my youngest (Aidan) begins high school, so this is High School, Part II for me.

It's funny to see how different I view things from the perspective of a parent going through the cycle a second time. Had Rowan not jumped two grades, this would be my THIRD time through the cycle, rather than just the second.

Knowing Aidan better, I didn't push to put him into advanced classes -- he can do well in regular classes and I'm happy with that. I'm less worried about class rank, GPA, etc. as long as he's passing and doing his best.

Of course, after the first six weeks, I think we're going pretty good -- he made 3 Bs and 4 As for the first six weeks, and the 3 Bs were high Bs (89, 88, and 86). Goal for the next six weeks is to bring those almost As into the A range.

Aidan hates getting up early to get dressed to go to band practice, but he really seems to enjoy band otherwise. Kaitlyn is working part-time and going to Blinn full-time (13 hours). Rowan is a bum. He starts college in January.

One thing I need to ask my school board about is how they're going to implement House Bill 5, which changes the graduation requirements for students who will graduate beginning in May 2015. Since Aidan is class of 2017, this will impact the course(s) he is required to take. For example, under the current rules, he is required to take 4 years of English, 4 years of Math, 4 years of Science, 4 years of History/Social Studies, and 2 years of a language other than English (LOTE). He also must have 1 credit in PE, 1 credit in Fine Arts, 1/2 credit in Speech, and 4 1/2 credits as electives. The new HB 5 requires 4 English, 3 Math, 3 Science, 3 History/Social Studies, 2 LOTE, 1 PE, 1 Fine Arts, and 5 electives. It also changes the Social Studies requirements to World History OR World Geography OR a combined World History/Geography course. Since he's in World Geography now, he could take US History in 10th grade and Government & Economics (each 1/2 credit classes) in his junior year. It also could free up a class spot for a 3rd elective in his 10th grade year. So many options -- but I have to see what the school board is going to do with regard to changing requirements locally.

October has begun again which means Marching Band competitions. Our first one, on October 5th, was not bad. We finished 4th overall. This weekend, October 12th, we have our pre-UIL competition in Conroe. Unfortunately, we're the 2nd band and we perform at 10:30 am. This necessitates leaving the school at 6 am in order to get there with ample time to unload, get into uniforms, warm up, and perform. Of course, after we perform, we'll reload, get out of uniforms, and head to the stadium to watch the remaining bands. If we don't make finals, we'll be home reasonably early (i.e., before 10:00 pm). If we make finals, it will be closer to 2 am before I get to bed on Sunday morning. The following weekend, October 19th, is UIL. We're a late performing band and there are no finals to worry about. We have our "Get Down" that evening on the parking lot. Must remember to pack table and chair under bus for that event. We should be home by about midnight but the next morning we have to go out to TRF for my in-laws' 50th wedding anniversary (which is October 19, 2013). I'm taking my cot so I can set it up by my car and nap during the day. I'm gonna need it! One more weekend, October 26th and we're off to Duncanville competition. Four competitions on four consecutive weekends. Blech! Luckily we have two weeks until the next football game after that...and it's a Saturday game so no early report time and no leaving work early either....

October 18th will begin the surgery clearance process so I can have both knees replaced on December 15th or 16th.

Not sure what we're doing for Christmas other than a gift card for folks.

Wednesday, November 14, 2012

November blahs

Why November?

This month is usually my most blah month of the year.

Marching season ends around the last weekend of October (this year was a slight exception, but for the most part it ended in October), so my mornings are free again. This is a good thing, right? However, I find it is harder and harder to get motivated to get out of bed and get moving in the mornings.

This year, because of the pain with my knees and the extra pounds I'm carrying (again), I decided to return to the Rec Center at 6 am daily. Last Friday I went to the Rec Center and re-newed my membership, got a locker rental, and vowed I'd be there bright and early Monday morning to do my exercise: 25 minutes of walking back and forth in the 4' deep instructional pool.

Sunday evening I got my gym bag together with everything I'd need. Two towels - one to wrap and dry with and one to stand on by my locker. No telling what's in the carpet there and my Crocs hold water so my feet don't dry before I put my socks on -- ick! Shampoo, body wash, scrubber, comb. Good to go. I put my shirt, bra, socks, and sneakers into the bag and set my swimsuit, jeans, Crocs and sweatshirt to put on first thing in the morning.

Monday morning: I returned to the pool. I did my 25 minutes of exercise. I showered and went to work.

Tuesday morning: I was there before opening again and got my exercise in and was at the office shortly after 7 am.

Wednesday morning: I was there before opening. My legs are definitely telling me they aren't happy, but I'm still going to the pool and walking.

Tonight I get to have MRIs on both knees. Yippee. I plan to continue with my weekday pool walking until the doctor tells me otherwise or I have surgery.

Tomorrow: I'll be back at the pool -- walking.

Thanksgiving is lurking around the corner waiting to pounce on me. I hate it. This year we're obligated to go see my in-laws. Don't get me wrong. I love my in-laws. It's just the crowding and stress I hate. They are living on very limited income with an 89-year-old father-in-law (hubby's grandfather) who is in poor health; 69-year-old mother-in-law, 68-year-old father-in-law, 56-year-old brother-in-law (hubby's uncle), 55-year-old brother-in-law (hubby's other uncle), 47-year-old adult child (hubby's older brother), 55-year-old sister-in-law (older brother's significant other), and 44-year-old adult child (hubby's younger brother) -- all in a 2-bedroom trailer home with addition of 3 more bedrooms and 1 more bathroom. Then you add in the visitors for dinner: me, hubby, our three kids, younger brother-in-law's 3 children plus married daughter and her husband, uncle (who doesn't live there) and his 2 1/2 year old ward and it becomes a nightmare. When the kids were younger it wasn't so bad. However, the youngest, outside of the 2 1/2 year old, is 13 years old and 5'6" tall and weighs 160 lbs. We just don't fit into the space, but mother-in-law insists she wants all of us 'together' for a meal. *sigh* Ok. I'll take my audio books, headphones, and Kindle to ignore them until it's time to eat. I don't need to listen to my nieces and nephew snipe at my kids and my kids annoy them...I just hope the weather is nice enough we can kick the kids out of the house for a while before dinner!

Then after Thanksgiving comes the anniversary of my dad's death. Then reminders of all my other family members who died between Thanksgiving and Christmas in years past.

I hate November. Can't we just fast-forward to December 21st please???